Posted by Owain on
"Before the fire to pass peaceful, Contented days while the rain outside pours down."
- from the sonnet which accompanies the concerto.

Two very different performances of the Largo, a Grade 5 piece. A free edition of the concerto is available from the Mutopia Project.

The first is a conventional performance on modern instruments, by Itzhak Perlman, followed by Fabio Biondi on a baroque violin interpreting the piece in a unique way.

EDIT: Well, that's a shame, the second video's disappeared due to complaints about copyright. So here's the same group playing and discussing other music by Vivaldi:

Related products from Amazon: 
Image of Vivaldi The Four Seasons for Violin & Piano (Barenreiter Urtext)
Manufacturer: Barenreiter
Part Number:
Image of EMI Masters - The Four Seasons / Itzhak Perlman
Manufacturer: EMI Classics
Part Number:
Price: £7.99
Image of Vivaldi: Four Seasons
Manufacturer: EMI
Part Number: